Today the provincial government announced that seven more regions will enter Stage 3 of reopening Ontario’s economy this Friday, joining the 24 regions that entered into Stage 3 last week.

Effective Friday, July 24, 2020 at 12:01 a.m., Durham, Halton, Hamilton, Niagara, Haldimand-Norfolk, Lambton and York regions will be allowed to enter Stage 3. However, Peel, Toronto and Windsor-Essex regions are excluded from this progression.

As announced last week, for regions in Stage 3, gathering limits will increase to a maximum of 50 people indoors and a maximum of 100 people outdoors, with physical distancing in place. More information about Stage 3 can be found here.

The government is also inviting businesses that are not able to open or resume full activities due to Stage 3 restrictions to submit a reopening proposal. Businesses can submit their reopening proposal here. Public health officials and government will review these proposals and contact businesses for feedback within 10 days of submission. A sector could be allowed to reopen or resume Stage 3 activities based on proposals submitted by businesses.

During today’s briefing, Premier Ford also indicated that the COVID-19 contact tracing app could be launched on Friday.