New Ministers for education, health, and policing.

REGINA: Yesterday, with the next Saskatchewan provincial election just over a year away (October 28, 2024), Premier Scott Moe announced a significant Cabinet shuffle.

The size of the cabinet remains unchanged, with 18 members, but it sees new faces in major portfolios such as education, health, and policing.

Moe stated in a provincial press release that the renewed cabinet mandate is “to build and protect Saskatchewan – to continue a strong economy, strong communities, and strong families, and to protect all that we have built together from threats like federal intrusion and economic challenges like inflation.”

The shuffle comes after two ministers announced last week that they will not seek re-election in 2024 and two by-election upsets for the Saskatchewan Party earlier this month.

On August 10, 2023, the Saskatchewan New Democrats easily won two seats in Regina (Regina-Coronation Park and Regina Walsh Acres), where both ridings had been previously held by the Saskatchewan Party since 2011. The Saskatchewan Party held onto a rural seat in the southwest (Lumsden Morse) with 53.7% of the vote. A riding that was previously held by veteran Saskatchewan Party MLA and former Minister of Agriculture, Lyle Stewart, who resigned earlier in the year after 25 years of service due to health concerns.

Who’s New:

  • Tim Mc Leod (MLA for Moose Jaw North), who was elected in 2020, will enter cabinet for the first time and serve as Minister of Mental Health and Addictions, Seniors, and Rural Remote Health.

Who’s back:

  • Joe Hargrave (MLA for Prince Albert Carleton) re-enters cabinet as Minister of SaskBuilds and Procurement.

Who Switches:

Six ministers remain in cabinet but take on new responsibilities:

  • Dustin Duncan (MLA for Weyburn-Big Muddy) will become Minister of Crown Investments Corporation and Minister responsible for all the significant Crowns, including SaskPower, SaskEnergy, SaskTel, SGI, and SaskWater. He will also serve as the Minister responsible for the Public Service Commission.
  • Christine Tell (MLA for Regina Wascana Plains) takes on a new cabinet post as Minister of the Environment.
  • Paul Merriman (MLA for Saskatoon Silverspring-Sutherland) will serve as the Minister of Corrections, Policing, and Public Safety and the Minister responsible for the Firearms Secretariat.
  • Lori Carr (MLA for Estevan) becomes the Minister of Highways.
  • Everett Hindley (MLA for Swift Current) will become the Minister of Health.
  • Jeremy Cockrill (MLA for The Battlefords) will serve as Minister of Education.

Who Stays:

Nine Ministers will hold on to their current Ministerial Responsibilities:

  • Donna Harpauer (MLA for Humboldt-Watrous) will continue to serve as Deputy Premier and Minister of Finance.
  • Jim Reiter (MLA for Rosetown-Elrose) remains Minister of Energy and Resources.
  • Gordon Wyant K.C. (MLA for Saskatoon Northwest) holds onto the Advanced Education portfolio.
  • Jeremy Harrison (MLA for Meadow Lake) will continue to serve as Minister of Trade and Export Development, Minister of Immigration and Career Training, and Minister responsible for Innovation and Tourism Saskatchewan.
  • David Marit (MLA for Wood River) remains Minister of Agriculture and Minister responsible for Saskatchewan Crop Insurance Corporation and will also become Minister responsible for the Water Security Agency.
  • Don McMorris (MLA for Indian Head-Milestone) remains Minister of Government Relations, Minister responsible for First Nations, Metis, and Northern Affairs, and Minister responsible for the Provincial Capital Commission, and becomes Minister of Labour Relations and Workplace Safety and the Minister responsible for Workers’ Compensation Board.
  • Bronwyn Eyre (MLA for Saskatoon Stonebridge-Dakota) will continue to serve as Minister of Justice and Attorney General.
  • Gene Makowsky (MLA for Regina Gardiner Park) will remain as Minister of Social Services.
  • Laura Ross (MLA for Regina Rochdale) remains in cabinet as Minister of Parks, Culture, and Sport and Minister responsible for the Status of Women and the Lotteries and Gaming Corporation.

Notable Changes:

Don Morgan, K.C. (MLA for Saskatoon Southwest) and Dana Skoropad (MLA for Arm River), who both recently announced that they will not seek re-election in 2024 – are leaving Cabinet. Morgan will continue to serve as Saskatchewan’s Provincial Secretary.

New Legislative Secretaries:

In addition to the cabinet shuffle, Premier Moe announced nine new Legislative Secretaries.

A full list of the new legislative secretaries and government press release can be found here.

The next provincial election in Saskatchewan is scheduled for October 28, 2024.

Insights provided by Counsel’s Western Team members, Deron Bilous, Steven Greenaway, and Logan Ross.

For more information, contact:

Headshot of Deron Bilous

Deron Bilous

Senior Vice President, Western Canada